Welcome! To read each post in full, click on the post title.

This is not legal advice, which can only be given by an attorney admitted to practice law in your jurisdiction after hearing all of the facts and circumstances in a particular case.

Thursday, September 20, 2007

Sylvia Rivera Law Project Celebrates 5 years

The Sylvia Rivera Law Project (SRLP) is a non-profit organization in New York City that provides information and advocacy on transgender issues. It is named for civil rights pioneer Sylvia Rivera, who was a veteran of the 1969 Stonewall uprising, and an advocate for transgender people. The organization's website has a plethora of resources on transgender issues, and it has worked to create organizational change in both public agencies and private companies.

SRLP is celebrating its fifth year by hosting an evening of food and performances at Judson Memorial Church in New York City. I'm on the host committee for this good cause.

The event is being held on Wednesday, September 26, 2007, starting at 6pm, at Judson Memorial Church, 55 Washington Square South, New York, NY. The event is wheelchair accessible. There will be food and drinks, as well as performances, speeches, and appearances by:

June Brown (MC) * Trishala Deb * Naomi Clark * Dean Spade * L'tifah E. Colclough
* Are Women Human? By Nick Nanna Hadikwa Mwaluko * Global Action Project *
The Rude Mechanical Orchestra
Tickets may be purchased online or by mail. If you are unable to attend the event, but would like to support the organization, you may purchase a "Long Distance Love" ticket. To purchase tickets or to get more information, go to


or call Ryder or Casey at 212.337.8550 ext.111

Please also join us for the official afterparty at:

Gimme Five! - the Official Afterparty
Wednesday, September 26, 9pm
M & R Bar, 356 Bowery at E. 4th St.
DJs: MEN (Jo and JD from Le Tigre) & DJ Craig

The afterparty is FREE for those who attend the SRLP 5th Anniversary Celebration
or $5/$10 (suggested donation) for everyone else

Sylvia Rivera Law Project, and the 5th Anniversary Host Committee:

Miabi Chatterji, Carrie Davis, Trishala Deb, Ivan Dominguez, Eli Dueker, Lynly Egyes, Jesse Ehrensaft-Hawley, Myles Gideon, Kiwi Grady, Chelsea Ross Green, Margarita Guzman, Bryn Kelly, Mickey Lambert, Cayden Lovejoy, Rickke Mananzala, Ileana Méndez-Peñate, Anya Mukarji-Connolly, Soniya Munshi, Allison Palmer, Jacob Rolls, Emily Roysdon, Dara Silverman, Sonja Sivesind, Alvin Starks, Kendall Thomas, Urvashi Vaid, Jillian Weiss, Craig Willse, Sasha Wortzel

No comments: